Science and art

IMG_1883.jpg

After a certain high level of technical skill is achieved, science and art tend to coalesce in esthetics, plasticity, and form. The greatest scientists are artists as well.~Albert Einstein

This TedTalk by Dr. Mae Jemison is one of my all time favourites. She was the first African-American woman to go into space. Here she talks about the vital integration of art and science. She rejects the bifurcation of art and science, intuition and analytical. Creativity is science and art. E=mc2 was an intuitive leap. There was no culture that advanced science and technology that did not include advancements in art. Educating without art because it isn’t important is like saying we only need oxygen for water.

Sharing is caring!

Joe

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Interview with Suzy Schultz

I really do love the conversation. I am more interested in hearing what other people have to say than what I have to say. In that vein, here I interview one of my favorite artists today, Suzy Schultz. Her website is in the title link... Continue →