About me

IMG_1277.jpg
I am not a theologian, scholar, or academic. Nor am I a Grammy or Tony award winner. I am not an historian. Over my life as an artist I have mostly been the one to help other artists realize their art, particularly as a lighting designer and production manager in the performing arts.

I have worked as and for presenters and producers. I have been a musician and I have worked with musicians. I have worked with some of the best artists (including Grammy and Tony award winners) and some of the worst, veteran and beginner/emerging alike. I have conversed with many art historians and love to learn.

All along I have engaged with them out of necessity, interest, and because I care about them and what they do. I think my position gives me a unique perspective.

I am not perfect and many of the problems I will discuss I have likely been the guiltiest of offenders. I have just as often, or more so than most people, fallen short of the mark. I only share my thoughts and observations, which are finite. My hope is others will both share and receive as an ongoing conversation that, together, we can piece together a greater understanding of the larger work of which we each only see in part, and that through a glass darkly.

Thanks for reading. Please write me with your own thoughts. Also, please let me know if I have permission to publish your thoughts.

blogATnatureofthebeatDOTorg

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

What is lost

I am blessed to know a lot of artists, many I call friends, and travel among many artist circles across many genres and disciplines. As someone who works in the arts industry and is an artist as well, I participate in and am part of many... Continue →