WWJD?

I was listening to Theatrical Outfit’s artistic director and actor Tom Key speak at a Q&A after a performance (a one man play on C. S. Lewis) he gave for RZIM’s Summer Institute gathering, Believing Again and Again: Story telling and the Gospel, this year in Atlanta. (That was a mouth full!)

Mr. Key points out that it never seemed to bother Jesus when his chosen art form was misunderstood and no one “got it”. He didn’t think “Wow. I should find another way to speak so people understand me better, just get to the point”. He continued, even chastising the disciples for not understanding.

Does that ring true with any of you artists out there? I thought so.

Does that point a finger to those who seem to dislike any art they “don’t get”? It better.

Hopefully just some encouraging words to my artist friends out there who seem to have difficulty being understood. What would Jesus do? Apparently what you’re doing!

Thanks for reading,
Joe

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Is Art dead?

TL/DR Another long post, but things I think need saying (even if a bit meandering musings) if only to get closer to a solution. The problem of art is not simple. While I still contend a great deal of the problem today is resultant of the... Continue →