Bad Christian art, pt. II

IMG_0993.jpg

What?

On a Facebook group I frequent and help manage, the question came up in regards to my previous post on Christians making bad art, what did I mean by the last quote from Bill T. Jones:

“What has never changed in your work through the years?”

“Doubt. It burns like fire.”

OK, back up

I made some leaps in that post hoping things are concise enough, but leaving room for deeper ventures later. There is a whole progression of my thoughts on art making in that post, by no means exhaustive or authoritative, just my own observations.

After you get past technique it becomes about intent and pursuit. And just like love, creating means being vulnerable. It wasn’t about making art about anything. This is about making art authentically. If making art doesn’t come from a point of vulnerability, even doubt, one isn’t trying hard enough.

Take the risk!

Anything can be art, but not everything is. This requires choice and decisions. You have to be willing to risk: risk certainty, risk pain and hurt, risk taking a chance, risk being misunderstood, risk failure. If you aren’t willing to risk those things, that isn’t art. It certainly won’t result in good art, much less great art.

As van Gogh once said, “The fishermen know that the sea is dangerous and the storm terrible, but they have never found these dangers sufficient reason for remaining ashore.”

I hope that helps. Feel free to email me and tell me what a nut job I am and that I have it all backwards. I actually welcome opposing views. Thanks for taking the time to read.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Pretty pictures

“I don’t want to think about art I just want to paint a pretty picture”. Why think about art? Can’t we just make art? Sure. But to a large degree we think about these things so that when we do make something we don’t have to think about... Continue →